Revlon- Stunning over Essie- Real Simple

3 days ago, Twitter went a flutter as several people tweeted about having found Whimsical, the new Deborah Lippmann Glitter In The Air dupe by Revlon. I took to the interwebs to see if this was a random one-off polish, or if it was part of a larger line. Well, it has a sister polish, Stunning. I added both to my list, and went off to the one convenient Bed Bath and Beyond that carries nail polish. I spent a good 20 minutes digging through all the nail polish displays, and was 50% successful. But perhaps this was the better half to find immediately? Everyone else is going gaga over Whimsical (which I DEFINITELY want) but no one has really mentioned Stunning. And Stunning it is 🙂

I Used:
1 coat Orly Bonder
3 coats Essie- Real Simple
1 coat Revlon- Stunning
1 coat Seche Top Coat

Stunning is a multi-colored micro and hex holo glitter in a clear base. To the naked eye, in the bottle, you can’t really tell it’s multi-colored. It just appears silver with a hint of black. When the light hits it though, its sooooo pretty. It’s also really subtle, so I’m wearing this one to the office tomorrow. Coverage is good, and glitter placement is effortless. It’s possible this is my new favorite glitter. I can’t wait to try it over some other colors, such as blue and purple. I was already wearing Real Simple. And it’s one of those days where I kept falling asleep if I sat down for more than 10 minutes. But I got lucky and I think it looks great! Definitely a girlier holiday manicure. You can pick up Stunning and Whimsical at Bed Bath and Beyond for $3.79.

 Essie’s Real Simple came as part of a 2pk mini set I picked up at Walgreens last weekend. It’s a great neutral that’s a creamy white color in the bottle, but definitely leans pink once it’s on the nail. Real Simple isn’t Essie’s greatest formula as it manages to be both thick and sheer at the same time. However, 3 coats provide decent coverage, and I like the finished product enough to baby the polish. As tweeted last night, this polish makes me feel classy 🙂 I’d also been wearing dark colors for the past week, and really wanted a neutral day. These little Essie minis are what I had in mind when writing my Polish On The Go post a few weeks ago. It’s a small, and a neutral color, which makes it “goes with everything” convenient. These 2pk Essie mini sets are popping up in Walgreens, Walmart, CVS, and other drug stores for $7.49.

About Melissa

Voracious Reader. Cat Mom. World Traveler. Pom-pom hat connoisseur. Views are my own & do not represent the US. Govt.

Posted on December 7, 2011, in Essie, Revlon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Wow that’s pretty. Is there a number on the top of it? Number means it’s core! I know Whimsical will be core so I’m wondering if this is.

  1. Pingback: Revlon – Whimsical !!! (over OPI – Planks A Lot) « The Varnish Clique

  2. Pingback: Revlon – Starry Pink (now released as Popular) gets Color Club – Orna-Minted! « The Varnish Clique

  3. Pingback: Lançamento: Glitter Nail Enamel REVLON #esmaltes #swatches | Beauty Drops Blog

Leave a comment