Maya Cosmetics- It Can’t Rain All The Time & Almost Happy Hour

A few weeks ago, my friend Chris sent me a tweet telling me his good friend Kat had started a new nail polish line that had launched that morning and to “tell all [my] nail polish people.”  Then when we were in Antigua, he was asking what I thought of the line, and getting my opinion, like I’m an expert or something. Well, to be fair, this is probably the only thing on the planet where I know more about it than he does. So when I had some left over funds from my trip, I decided to purchase a few, and if I didn’t like them, I did my Good Friend Duty of The Year! Luckily, this was money well spent!!

Up first is It Can’t Rain All The Time. A sheer purple base with green, periwinkle, and lavender hex glitter, with lavender microglitter, It Can’t Rain All The Time is a great glitter on it’s own, but also great as a layering polish (see below!). Here I have 2 coats with a bit of visible nail line, but 3 coats eliminated that problem.  I also layered it over Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure’s Greige Gardens and it looked great then as well!

This will be a great polish for spring time and I will definitely be trying some of Kat’s other glitters. Also, props for the nod to The Crow.

The other polish I purchased was Almost Happy Hour. That’s a thought that runs through my mind at least 4 times a week. And as the “office appropriate” polish lover, this was definitely a “must have” polish for me. A taupe creme with a copper, silver, gold, and pink shimmer, this polish is office appropes with a dash of pizzazz. I used two coats here, but you can totally get away with just one! Those are the best kind! While a lot of my neutrals are in the pale pinks and mannequin hands category, this one will provide a bit of color in the office.

Maya Cosmetics are available their website for $8.50. Through the month of October, $1 from each bottle sold will be split between the Wounded Warriors Project and Fisher House. These are organizations that are close to my heart as I work for the Department of Veterans Affairs and have worked closely with people who work for, and benefited from, both WWP and Fisher House.

About Melissa

Voracious Reader. Cat Mom. World Traveler. Pom-pom hat connoisseur. Views are my own & do not represent the US. Govt.

Posted on October 22, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment