Maya Cosmetics- It Can’t Rain All The Time & Almost Happy Hour

A few weeks ago, my friend Chris sent me a tweet telling me his good friend Kat had started a new nail polish line that had launched that morning and to “tell all [my] nail polish people.”  Then when we were in Antigua, he was asking what I thought of the line, and getting my opinion, like I’m an expert or something. Well, to be fair, this is probably the only thing on the planet where I know more about it than he does. So when I had some left over funds from my trip, I decided to purchase a few, and if I didn’t like them, I did my Good Friend Duty of The Year! Luckily, this was money well spent!!

Up first is It Can’t Rain All The Time. A sheer purple base with green, periwinkle, and lavender hex glitter, with lavender microglitter, It Can’t Rain All The Time is a great glitter on it’s own, but also great as a layering polish (see below!). Here I have 2 coats with a bit of visible nail line, but 3 coats eliminated that problem.  I also layered it over Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure’s Greige Gardens and it looked great then as well!

This will be a great polish for spring time and I will definitely be trying some of Kat’s other glitters. Also, props for the nod to The Crow.

The other polish I purchased was Almost Happy Hour. That’s a thought that runs through my mind at least 4 times a week. And as the “office appropriate” polish lover, this was definitely a “must have” polish for me. A taupe creme with a copper, silver, gold, and pink shimmer, this polish is office appropes with a dash of pizzazz. I used two coats here, but you can totally get away with just one! Those are the best kind! While a lot of my neutrals are in the pale pinks and mannequin hands category, this one will provide a bit of color in the office.

Maya Cosmetics are available their website for $8.50. Through the month of October, $1 from each bottle sold will be split between the Wounded Warriors Project and Fisher House. These are organizations that are close to my heart as I work for the Department of Veterans Affairs and have worked closely with people who work for, and benefited from, both WWP and Fisher House.

About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on October 22, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

