Essie- Play Date & OPI- Spotted

Even though I am working my way through my untrieds and trying not to buy any new polish (special exceptions excluded, obviously), I picked up Essie’s Play Date this weekend because I knew I wanted it to be my Caribbean vacation pedicure color. I also thought it would make a great base for Spotted. I absolutely love this color. The formula is wonderful as Essies usually are, and it went on perfectly in 2 coats. It’s also super easy to control. I barely had to do any clean up because it doesn’t pool in my cuticles, or drag. This is a bit brighter than Rimmel’s Wild Orchid, but resides in the same family and are close enough that I may purge my Rimmel. I picked up Play Date at Target for $7.79.

NOW!!

I have to give a huuuuuuuuuuuuuuuge shout out to my friend Gina who sent this to me in a care package this week. She knew I was having issues with my eBay purchase of Spotted, while she somehow manage to bid and win two bottles.  So when I opened my package and saw a mini of Spotted, the sounds that came out of my mouth in excitement were not human. She poured some of her bottle into an empty mini and sent it to me!! Thanks Gina!! Obviously, I had to try it immediately, and I love the result. I definitely need some work on the application. You are supposed to put on a VERY THIN coat, and while I wiped my brush until I was sure there no polish on it, that still ended up not being thin enough. That’s why you are getting pictures that only have 2 and 3 fingers in them. My other fingers just look… special. I can’t wait to try Spotted over other colors and see the different combinations. You best believe there will be a DC United manicure done with this before the end of the season.

Unfortunately, you can’t buy OPI Spotted in the States at this time. You will probably need to find a kind and generous soul in France to purchase and ship it to you, or pay out the hoohah for it on eBay. That’s another reason I’m grateful Gina sent me this mini. I can’t really afford a full-sized bottle at the extortionate eBay prices so this is now my most prized polish!!

About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on September 23, 2012, in Essie, OPI and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

