“My name is Barack Obama and I endorse this… nail polish?”

Okay, yes, I work in politics. And, yes, this post pretty much reveals which side I’m supporting this November. And yes, I am loving that, thanks to members of the beauty industry like Marie Claire, and Anna Wintour, and the other gazzilion “go get ’em!” girls who have been rallying the troops this year, being politically informed is now in full fashion.  But, really, all I’m here about today is to say that Obama has his own nail polish. And I want it.

According to the “Runway to Win” website, which is part of Obama’s campaign store, the set, designed by Richard Blanch includes: “Red-y To Win Red – A delightfully deep red, a bold pop of color that makes a statement; Victory White – A soft, clean white perfectly polished for every day wear; and Bo Blue – A shimmering sapphire blue, a fun take on the classic navy.” And to seal the all Americana feel, four little words: “Made in the USA”. It’s even on sale, marked down from $40 to the totally splurgable amount of $25.

I know, I know, we all have like 20 dupes of these colors in our collections, but I need this. If POTUS puts his seal of approval on these colors, that’s like an executive order on nail polish trends or something, right? (You know, I type these things and then I realize I come across like Elle Woods, before she realized smart was sexy too…) I’m sure non-polish addicts will look at this and go, “uh, really? why would a campaign seriously sell that?” But since I am, in fact, a polish addict, I’m pretty sold on it being a fabulous concept, and I am seriously considering getting it. Basically, the real reason I need this is because I love the fact that I can support something with my weekly nail polish splurge for once, and I love the fact that I can wear it long-term. If someone wants to say something about it being silly, I’ll gladly quote the NYT discussion on how nail polish is the new lipstick of economic indicators and that, really, it’s kind of an ingenious move. The fact that it’s not a metal button with “made in china” on the back is a perk too.

Who am I kidding, my debit card is already in hand. I’ll let you know how a political polish turns out 😉

xo- Jess

Posted on September 19, 2012, in DEAL ALERTS, Manicures, Shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

