Essie- Turquoise and Caicos

20120131-082019.jpg

Phew, it’s been a trying week and a half. Apologies for the lack of a Deal Alerts post, but with the office move this weekend, and the days leading up to it, I just didn’t have the time to do a comprehensive post. But they’ll be back next weekend, and coming at ya from NEEEEWWW YORK CITY. And also apologies for the oddly watermarked photos. I’m having some issues with camera-computer link up, and figured it would be better to do this than to not post at all.

So! Today we have Essie’s Turquoise and Caicos, a color I had wanted for a long time before finally picking it up with an ULTA coupon over the holidays. Turquoise and Caicos is a light pastel turquoise jelly-creme. Unfortunately, I’m not sure whether I love or hate this polish. My first attempt with it lead to me removing it after getting frustrated while giving myself a pedicure and practically throwing it into my melmer in disgust. This attempt went much better as a manicure, so perhaps it’s just not a formula that is meant for a pedicure (unless you take it to your professional manicurist!). This is three coats, and three coats are definitely NEEDED, and even then its not entirely opaque. I used to be a three-coater, but I’ve definitely come to appreciate a quick two coat and done type of manicure. Besides, if after 3 coats you’ve still got VNL and a bald spot or two, you’re lucky you’re not in the purge pile already. But the color, ohhhhh the color. It’s a great spring/summer light turquoise that I just love! So I’m torn. I may give it one more chance before officially throwing it in the purge pile. Third time’s the charm, right?

Hit the jump for an artistic shot of my T&C mani, with my new 8th Floor Cubicle with a Window! view 🙂

20120131-082030.jpg

You can already see the tip wear after less than 24 hours (only partially due to unpacking boxes) and can see from this angle how thick the polish looks. Sigh.

About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on January 31, 2012, in Essie, Manicures, swatch and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

