Sunday Brunch Mani! Essie Cocktail Bling w/ Pure Pearlfection

Yesterday I went for Sunday Brunch at my favorite restaurant, Volt. If you are a Top Chef Nerd, you may remember the owner, Bryan Voltaggio, was the runner-up on the season his brother Michael won. The food was phenomenal as always (see pics below) and girl talk was had. Naturally, I did a mani for the occasion and it looked great with my dress.

Essie once again has hit it out of the park with Cocktail Bling. It’s a perfect 2 coater, and applies like butter. The formula may be a bit thin for some, but I love it. It’s easy to work with and it doesn’t pool around the nail crevices. It’s a great winter neutral that has some color, but is cool enough it fits into the winter season. The picture shows it leaning purple, but it’s actually a blue leaning gray.

As for Pure Pearlfection, I’ve covered it before. I’d like to tell you that I wore it over CB to represent the frost and snow we got in MD this weekend or some crap like that. The truth is, I just really love this top coat. It gives a little bit of bling in a classy, not-in-your-face type of way. I have noticed there is a blue and pink shimmer I haven’t noticed before. I’m not sure if this is due to being layered over a blue polish or not.

Both of these polishes retail for around $7.50-$8.50 depending on where you shop. Cocktail Bling is from the 2011 Cocktail Bling Collection and Pure Pearlfection is from the Luxeffects line.

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Cocktail Bling, Essie, Luxeffects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Bobbing for Baubles is a navy blue…are you sure this isn’t Bangle Jangle?
    Gorgeous mani nonetheless!

    • Im sure it’s not Bangle Jangle, but you are correct that it’s not BfB! It’s cocktail bling and I have updated the post. Thanks for catching that. We’ll just blame Monday.

Leave a Reply

