Santarchy DC Mani!!

Yesterday, I got together with some of my favorite people, dressed up in ridiculous(ly awesome) festive costumes, and marched around DC and bar crawled like only Santas could. I didn’t go as a jolly fat man, but I did dress up like Blitzen The Drunk Reindeer. Naturally, I had to do a manicure for the event!! And what better way to kick off the week before Christmas than with a Christmas mani?

I Used:
1 coat Orly Bonder
2 coats Essie Marshmallow
2 coats China Glaze Twinkle Lights
1 coat OPI Gettin’ Miss Piggy With It
1 coat Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

That seems like a lot of polish and glitter, but it doesn’t feel heavy at all. First off, OMG do I love Marshmallow!?! It’s a great creamy white jelly that seems like it will be really versatile (I’ve only had it for 3 days).  The two coats seemed the slightest bit thin, but as it was meant to be a base, I wasn’t too concerned. However, if you were wearing this on its own, or with a design/glitter that doesn’t cover the nail, you’d probably want to use 3 coats. Twinkle Lights is a gold, green, and red glitter in a clear base, making it an excellent layering glitter for the holidays as you can wear it over any color. The clear base is a bit thin and runny, so I used to coats to get adequate coverage. Then, because I wanted a little more oomph, I added a light layer of OPI’s Gettin’ Miss Piggy With It over that, which is the red and silver hex glitter. I love Getting Miss Piggy With It, it’s one of my favorite glitters. My initial intention was to try Nicole’s (of Nightly Nails) Peppermint Bark mani, but it wasn’t working out for me. I still want to try it (maybe later this week) but I think it looks better with CG Party Hearty, which I don’t have. Plus, in the end, I decided it’s the weekend, I was drankin’, and I wanted something sparkly to look at!! I also got a lot of compliments at Victoria’s Secret today. I’m really bad at nail art, so this was simple enough to do. And I really like the end result. It’s not entirely depicted in the photo, but the gold glitter dominates in the shimmer department, so it’s got a golden tint to it.

Marshmallow is available pretty much everywhere as it’s one of Essie’s core colors for ~$7.50-8. Twinkle Lights (which I got as part of a mini set) is available at Sally Beauty, Ulta, and many e-tailers for $5-7. Gettin’ Miss Piggy With It is available at Ulta, and wherever OPI is sold for $8-10.

About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on December 18, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

