Happy Ho Ho Holidays!!

Today we have another mani inspired by my friend Gina. She was a fellow reindeer at Santarchy this weekend, and she did some awesome nail art for the occasion. I’m not ambitious or talented enough to attempt the reindeer art, but even I was able to attempt the Santa suit portion of the manicure. I happen to resemble a candy cane with my outfit today, so between that, and my nails, I am possibly the most festively dressed person in the DMV area. For a tutorial, and an “artsy fartsy” shot of my manicure, hit the jump!


I Used:
1coat Orly Bonder
2coats Spoiled- I Tripped On The Carpet
1coat China Glaze- White on White
1coat Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

So this probably the easiest nail art on the planet. Which is good, since I have little patience or artistic talent. Nor am
I that ambidextrous. But this doesn’t require nice clean lines, so it was ideal.

Step 1: apply your base coat.
Step 2: free hand tips in red (or any color) using two coats to eliminate visible nail line. I Tripped On The Carpet is a Spoiled by Wet n Wild nail polish, a new line that’s popping up in CVS around my area.* I bought it for the name, as much as the color, since tripping on the carpet is something I do daily.
Step 3: clean up any errant red polish using your preferred method of clean up. I use pure acetone and a concealer brush. Remember, you do not need a perfectly straight line, it’s going to be covered up.
Step 4: use a dotting tool to add white fluff.
Step 5: let air dry for a moment or two before adding top coat to prevent smearing.

And wahlah, Santa Nails! Simple, and takes maybe 20 minutes. I’ve received several compliments on them, and the ladies at my Starbucks ohhed and ahhed over them the entire time we were inside this morning.

Spoiled by Wet n Wild is available at CVS for $1.99 and ChG White on White is available at Sally Beauty and ULTA for $5.99.

*the Spoiled display has some really exciting colors and glitters, and only 2 slots per color. At $1.99 I suggest grabbing all the ones you want. I’ll do a full manicure of “Tripped” soon. It’s a great red.

Posted on December 18, 2011, in China Glaze, Orly, Seche, Spoiled, Wet N WIld and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

