Revlon- Fashionista + Whimsical

Yesterday I shared Naughty, so today I wanted to share Fashionista. It’s one of the ones I wanted IMMEDIATELY upon seeing the display on Nouveau Cheap, and actually carried around the store for about 20 minutes before putting it back the first time I saw it. But I picked it up at Walgreens this past week when I went in to pick up the Lord of the Rings Pez dispenser set (which, btdubs, was the highest grossing item at my office’s blind auction to raise money for an adopted Veteran family!! But I digress.)

I used:
1 Orly Bonder
2 coats Revlon Fashionista
1 coat Seche Vite Fast Dry Top Coat

Fashionista is a deep, dark teal creme. I’m in love, despite this not being my best manicure ever. It’s dark enough to go with my pale skin tone, but not so dark it looks gothic. 2 coats are needed for full opacity, but only because there is a bit of brush stroke towards the tip of the nail on the first coat. I put a coat of Whimsical over it 1) because I wanted to show y’all what it looked like over a darker color and b) I was so flippin’ excited to use Whimsical now that it was mine!! I’m going back and forth on whether I like the combo (LOVE Whimsical itself). I think the color combo is gorgeous, but due to the cloudy nature of Whimsical, the unevenness of one coat is really apparent over a darker color. And I can’t help but stare at it, in a bad way. Perhaps I will try again with two coats, but I feel like this is a layering glitter, and you should only need one coat for it to look nice. So as of right now, I’m leaning towards using it only over lighter colors.

Fashionista can be found at Walgreens and Kmart for $4.99, or at Bed Bath & Beyonds that sell makeup for ~$3.79.

About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on December 14, 2011, in Revlon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

