Revlon- Carbonite

 I’ve had this swatch sitting in my swatch stash for quite a while. When it first came out a few months ago, everyone and their mother were posting about it. I didn’t want this post to get lost in the sea of carbonite, so I waited a bit to post it. I’m now in the middle of a “my fingers are cracking and peeling” phase and haven’t been photographing, so this seems like the perfect time to share Carbonite. She’s a dark pewter gray with a metallic foil finish. And she. is. gorgeous. I’ve worn Carbonite several times this fall. Mostly when I’m in need of a quick manicure. If you put on a thick enough coat, you can get away with just one. Here, I’m wearing two coats, without a top coat. I rarely wear a top coat when wearing Carbonite because it reduces the metallic finish a bit. As I mentioned, it’s a great formula. It’s highly pigmented, and one thicker coat, or 2 thinner coats allow for complete opacity.

What I really like about Carbonite is that she manages to look high-class and urban at the same time. Whenever I wear it, I always get a lot of compliments. She also goes with just about any outfit so she’d be a great polish to travel with. I also think Carbonite will look good on just about any skin tone. It’s so versatile, I almost think you NEED it in your collection. I have nothing like this in my collection. I either have darker grays, or colors that lean more silver. And this is just the right shade that it can be dressed up, or dressed down. Plenty of comparisons have been done with Chanel’s Graphite. Carbonite is not a dead on dupe, but  it is very VERY similar.

Carbonite is a limited edition polish. However, I’ve seen it around at CVS and Rite Aid but not in the “correct” display. It retails between $4-$5.50 depending on sales and which drugstore you find it in. G over at Nouveau Cheap saw it for $1.50 at Big Lots back in October!! So if you see it, please pick it up!!

About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on November 20, 2011, in Revlon and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Shannon Cardaronella

    Thank you. I will look for it.

  2. I just got this at Big Lots this last Tuesday! It’s got beautiful flashes of silver and gold sparkle in it.

Leave a Reply

