China Glaze- Strawberry Fields (Breast Cancer Awareness Month)

October is Birthday Month. I’m not the vainest person on this planet by any means, but I have definitely been known to try and claim birthday month when there’s something in the month of October that I want to do. More importantly, October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, something that hits close to home here at The Varnish Clique. Stores run all sorts of sales and fundraisers during this month. Sally Beauty Supply is running A LOT of great ones, I definitely suggest hitting the store up if you get a chance. One of the sales is several pink shades of China Glaze Polishes are on sale for $4.99, Benefiting the Susan G. Komen Foundation. I already had all the other colors, so I picked up Strawberry Fields. Not only does it benefit the SGK Foundation, it also reminds me of one of my favorite Beatles songs, Strawberry Fields Forever. Fun Melissa Fact: I lived in Liverpool, home of The Beatles, for a year in college. The name of this polish made me smile when I saw it, as a lot of things remind me of Liverpool. Click the jump for a review of the polish, and, because I felt like it, the video for Strawberry Fields Forever!

 I used:
1 coat Orly Bonder
3 coats China Glaze Strawberry Fields
No Top Coat

So. I love this. Shocking. I know. But it’s a great pink. There were other swatch shots that showed the true color a bit better (although, this is a fairly accurate color depiction) but this one showed the glass flecks in the polish, which I think is what gives this the wow factor. Strawberry Fields is from ChinaGlaze’s 2009 Summer Days Collection (but I think it’s now a part of the permanent collection) and is a medium pink jellyish-creme with gold glass flecks.  I can’t decide if it’s a magenta, or a rose-pink. Either way, it’s gorgeous. It takes some building, and 3 coats are necessary. You can see that even with 3 coats, I still have a visible nail line on several nails. It’s the curse of having ridiculously white nail tips. Application is excellent, goes on smooth, and there isn’t any streaking or polish dragging. The imperfection on my index finger is a clean-up error. Sometimes I forget I don’t put Seche Vite on, and that polish doesn’t dry miraculously fast on its own… for the most part. I didn’t use a top coat because this wasn’t a full manicure, BUT it is a full pedicure right now. This will sound borderline weird, but I keep staring at my feet/toes while I’m typing it. I can’t wait to wear this as a full manicure!!

And now, enjoy one of my favorite bands EVER, The Beatles!!! (sorry the quality is a wee bit crappy)

 

About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on October 17, 2011, in China Glaze and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I just got this one too! It kind of reminds me of NARS Orgasm blush in a polish:)

Leave a Reply

