O.P.I.- French Quarter For Your Thoughts

**I’d like to start off today’s post with a massive HAPPY FREAKING BIRTHDAY to Jess. Make sure you wish her one on Twitter at @varnishclique.** As I mentioned yesterday, I am all about gray this fall. There are so many different shades of gray, and it goes with pretty much anything, so I feel justified in having so many in my collection. We’ve already covered several colors in OPI’s Touring America Fall 2011 line, including I Eat Mainely Lobster, Honk If You Love OPI, and Are We There Yet? Today, we have the 4th with French Quarter For Your Thoughts. I bought this color at a Walmart Salon in Maryland when they were running a BOGO50% off sale a few months ago. I’d really wanted ‘Lobster’ and then made a snap decision to get ‘French Quarter’ because my mom was getting impatient. As this was before I realized gray was my color, this turned out to be a most excellent decision.

I Used:
1 coat WnW Clear (this was a “Swatchathon” mani)
3 coats OPI- French Quarter for Your Thoughts
No top coat.

First of all, I LOVE the name of this polish. OPI is the best in that area. I’d never been to New Orleans, but if I do go, I’m wearing this polish. French Quarter is a true light gray creme. If we’re keepin’ it real, which I try to do, this isn’t the greatest formula in the nail polish realm. It’s kinda thin, and it separates really easily. I spent 20 minutes (off and on) shaking it post-purchase to mix up the formula. And this isn’t a color that’s been sitting on a shelf for a year either. It’s also several shades darker than it appears in the bottle, but this could be due to the fact that I’m wearing three coats of it because the formula is so thin. However, I can deal with these things because I like the color so much. It’s not streaky, which polishes can tend to be when they require multiple coats. French Quarter has a slight shimmer to it (not evident in the photo, unfortunately) and a pretty glossy finish. Overall, it’s not my favorite gray in my collection, but it’s the only one like it. This is a brighter gray, whereas most of my other grays lean towards the slate gray end of the spectrum. This could definitely be a year-round gray.

You can find French Quarter For Your Thoughts, as well as all the other colors of the Touring America collection online or at your local ULTA. They retail for $8.50, but you can usually find them on eBay or Amazon for a $1 or so cheaper.

Posted on September 28, 2011, in Manicures, OPI, swatch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

