Maybelline- Cool Couture

It’s been a loooooooooooong time since I bought/owned/used a Maybelline polish. So long I don’t even think I could compare them. And I’d been in and out of Walgreens/Rite Aide/CVS and have seen the new Fall 2011 line which was inspired by New York Fashion Week. I had a $1 Rite Aid coupon from their Facebook page, so I decided to pick it up before I entered into my Buying Blackout (effective: NOW!) I did a little research to figure out what color I wanted, and this was the one that caught my eye. If I hadn’t done a little research before hand, I probably would have never picked this color up. I have a lot of grey tones in my collection since I’m allllllll about the gray this fall/winter, and I’m going to try to be a little pickier when it comes to the polish I buy. Good thing I research almost everything to death before I buy it.

Hit the jump for my review!

I used:
1 coat Orly Nail Defense
2 coats Maybelline Cool Couture
1 coat of Sinful Colors Pearl Harbor (Accent Nail)

 Cool Couture is a blue toned gray. What makes it unlike any of the other grays in my collection its packed with a turquoise shimmer. It’s gooooooooorgeous. I almost continued with an entire manicure, I liked the color that much. The first coat was slightly worrying because it’s really sheer. But the second coat goes on so perfect it’s mind-boggling. The formula is excellent, and Cool Couture is fully opaque in two coats. You could use three if you really wanted to. I can also report that it dried pretty quickly. It’s not exactly 50 seconds (yes, I counted) but it still dries quick enough that I don’t mind a few extra seconds. This was photographed without a top coat, and it’s got a high shine finish without one.

This polish is fantastical on its own. But I couldn’t resist trying something a little extra. I picked up Pearl Harbor after having seen it on Sandy, and thought the holographic glitter would look good on an accent nail. I was right! But, I repeat, this polish doesn’t need a glitter accent. I was just having a little swatching fun, and I liked the way it looked. You can see the pics below!

You can find Maybelline in almost any drug store such as Rite Aid, CVS, and Walgreens, and in Walmart and Target, and it retails for about $3.75-$4.50.

About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on September 27, 2011, in Manicures, Maybelline and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

