Butter London- No More Waity, Katie

Full disclosure: I have been a bit “meh” over No More Waity, Katie since it’s come out. It had grown on me a bit since then, having seen better swatch pictures, but I still thought it’s over hyped due to Royal Wedding madness, and the fact that it’s a Butter London glitter, which they don’t tend to do very often. So when I made my Butter London shopping list for the Ulta 21 days of Beauty sale, it’s was 3rd on the back up list, and I was originally planning on only buying 4. It was a nice thought. After placing my original online order, I headed to the store with the intent of having the immediate gratification of polishes in my hand. There was a lost bank card fiasco, and I was only able to get 2 polishes, this being one of them. I figure since I REALLY WANTED to other color I bought, this was the “free” one of the BOGOFREE deal. Since my Ulta order doesn’t arrive until tomorrow, and the other BL polish I got is being saved for a different review, NMWK is what I’m working with.

I used:
1 coat Orly Nail Defense
3 coats Butter London- No More Waity, Katie
1 coat of Seche Vite Fast Dry Top Coat

I’m still kind of meh over this. No More Waity, Katie is a dirty lavender mauve, packed with glitter. It’s a pretty color and it’s not all that hard to work with. But this is three coats of polish, and it’s still not fully opaque. The base is super thin so you really need four, possibly FIVE coats of this for full coverage and to eliminate the risk of bald spots. That’s a lot of effort. And a lot of polish for one manicure when you are using a $14 bottle of polish. I used one coat of Seche Vite top coat, but it really needs two. NMWK eats top coat like I nom Chipotle after being out of the country for a few weeks. I’ve only had this on for a few hours and my tips are already showing due to massive shrinkage. On top of it all, the glitter is just regular old glitter. No variety, no hidden surprises, no excitement, really. However, my opinion on NMWK changes fairly drastically once it’s layered over a darker base. I was wearing Zoya’s Tao (not yet reviewed) on Tuesday, and since I was planning on a new mani that evening anyway, I decided to test out NMWK over it. And I really like the result. You have a fully opaque base, and it really sets off the glitter. Additional plus, you are only using one, maybe two, coats of polish, instead of four or five. Tao is a pretty dark gray, and it almost looks purple with two coats of NMWK. This polish is currently filed under the purple section of my Melmer, but I’m strongly considering moving it to the glitter section. It’s definitely better as a layering glitter, than as a polish on it’s own.

You can find Butter London at Ulta or Nordstrom, or online at http://www.butterlondon.com. It retails for $14 a bottle, but you can find it on sale. Occasionally HauteLook runs blow out sales where the colors are $5 a bottle!

About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on September 25, 2011, in Butter London, Zoya and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

