OPI 2011 Miss Universe Collection Swatches

So I’ve had this collection for a while, I love small collections so I can collect them all, lol.  And yes, I’m TOTALLY the type to collect all the polishes in one collection (as you’ve seen from the Wet n Wild On the Prowl Collection) unless one of the colors is absolutely hideous.  But it really has to be bad for me not to buy it.   Anyway, I got all 4 of these and swatched em up quickly in honor of the Miss Universe crowning last week.  Congrats Miss Angola, Leila Lopes!!  I know a lot of people were excited about her winning, and I can see why.. she’s absolutely gorgeous!

On to the swatches under the cut!

opi-crown me already

OPI - Crown Me Already!

OK this picture does NOT do this glitter justice.  This is the silver version of OPI – Spark de Triomphe. SdT is a dense gold glitter, and Crown Me Already! is a dense silver glitter.  I did 2-3 coats, and I know it looks like it didn’t cover the nail but it pretty much did.  It would definitely look TONS better with a base color under it, plus Seche Vite on top to smooth it out.  I’ve used it for past manis like a for ring accent nail on Essie’s Capri, and I love it.  I think I’d like to try it over a silver next.. maybe Wet n Wild’s Silvivor?  I think that would make a great disco nails effect for all you fans of disco nails. 😉

OPI - It's My Year

This is my favorite color of the collection.  I put on 2 coats of it.  I this I like this color the most because It’s My Year is an improved version of Rally Pretty Pink, a color that I was actually pretty disappointed in.  (Side note: Rally Pretty Pink in my opinion, has too much gold foil which overpowers the pink. Also, I had sky high expectations for RPP).  Comparing bottles, they look pretty much the same but on the nail you can see that they’re different:
See how It’s My Year definitely looks like there’s more purple in it? Whereas RPP  is a light pink with more gold foil-y specks?  Yeah, more purple + less foil = win.

OPI - Swimsuit... Nailed It!

OPI - Swimsuit... Nailed It!

Loooove this color. It’s a bright foil blue.  There’s an almost holo effect because the color is so bright, but it’s definitely not a holo.  The name cracks me up because the swimsuit portion of these pageants is everyone’s favorite right? (lol)  Anyway, I put on 2 coats of this color and admired the loveliness.  I took it off just in time though, I think it was just starting to stain my fingers.  Gorgeous color, but use a very nice base coat under it:)

opi-congeniality-is-my-middle-name

OPI - Congeniality Is My Middle Name

I like this color a lot, it’s like a dark shimmery magenta.  This is 3 coats.  The name always reminds me that movie, Miss Congeniality.. that Sandra Bullock movie.  I love Sandra Bullock so that’s not a bad thing:)  I don’t think this color is terribly unique but if you don’t have something like it already, this wouldn’t be a bad choice.

Overall, the application and formulas for all the polishes in the collection were spot on.  I didn’t have an issue with any of the colors.  I love OPI for this!

Oh and I showed some Miss Angola love earlier but my heart always lies with Miss USA (whoever it may be:)).

USA USA USA!!

Posted on September 22, 2011, in OPI, swatch and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. There were at least 3 things in this post that made me lol, and one that made me snort haha. ❤ you Sandy, ❤ you.

    Oh and pretty colors!! 😛

  2. It’s My Year was the only one NOT at Ulta the other day… I can see why now. *adds to list*

  3. I also like Swimsuit… Nailed It! great pedi color!

Leave a Reply

