Maryland Football Matte Black Helmets Manicure (feat. Wet n Wild – Ink Well)

maryland football matte black helmet mani

This is been an insanely crazy posting week due to On the Prowl but there’s no way I’m not gonna take the time for this manicure because you all already know I’m a huge Maryland football fan.  I know I’ll never top my first one of the season, so I’m not going to even try.  But I should also mention that that Maryland Pride manicure was the ALL TIME most viewed post here at The Varnish Clique!!  I’m so proud that people have Maryland pride, or are at least interested in it!  So, thank you readers for making that post such a success (and I really did nothing to spread the word about it).  My friend Cathy shared it on facebook but that’s about it.   I’m just really glad you guys enjoyed it. 🙂

I did get some feedback that it might be too complicated, so I think this matte black helmet manicure is perfect because you only need to draw the Calvert (black and yellow) and Crossland (red and white) crests just once:)

More under the cut!!

For anyone that doesn’t pay attention to Maryland football, this manicure was inspired by the matte (or flat) black helmets that were debuted by Under Armour for the team:

A preview of Maryland matte black football helmets from Maryland Head Coach @RandyEdsall's twitter account

So hot, right?  Anyway, the team is going all black against West Virginia tomorrow so they’ll be wearing these helmets.  You won’t want to miss it!

For the matte black manicure:
Matte black nails:
1 coat Seche Rebuild (base coat for all the nails)
2 coats Wet n Wild – Ink Well (from the On the Prowl collection)
1 coat Essie – Matte About You (matte top coat)

On the ring accent nails:
/ black and yellow
3 coats Sinful Colors – Pull Over (yellow base color)
to make the checkers: Sinful Colors Nail Art- Time Off nail art pen in black
1 coat Seche Vite (top coat for just the ring fingers)

/ red and white
3 coats China Glaze – White Out (white base color)
Sinful Colors Nail Art – Bad Chick (white)
Sinful Colors Nail Art – Pretty Cool (red)
1 coat Seche Vite (top coat for just the ring fingers)

OK I know that sounds like a lot, but it’s not bad especially for someone that loves Maryland:)  I liked Ink Well.  It’s a (surprise surprise!) dupe for Wet n Wild’s Ebony Hates Chris.  I have both, but prefer Ink Well for the name alone 🙂   Wet n Wild makes the best black cremes!  I feel like they always have that going for them.  I can also see why they included a black creme in the On the Prowl collection even if it is a dupe for EHC.  It wouldwork great layered under some of the glitters in the collection: namely Correction Tape and Behind Closed Doors (coming soon!).  Here’s a swatch of Ink Well with no matting for anyone interested:


wet n wild - ink well
2 coats of  Ink Well, 3 coats of White Out on the accent nail, no top coat

I’d used Essie’s Matte About You top coat before but have always wanted to use it again.  And to be honest, as soon as I saw these helmets I thought about how I could use Matte About You over black to match the helmets, lol.  This was back in late August so I’d been itching to do this manicure for quite a long time:)

Not mine, found this on Google image search

 Get pumped!!  Look out for the all black Maryland uniforms tomorrow 9/17/2011 either at Byrd Stadium in College Park, MD or on ESPNU at noon 🙂

Posted on September 16, 2011, in Manicures, On The Prowl Collection, Sinful Colors, swatch, Uncategorized, Wet N WIld and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. IM not a huge fan of matte in general, but I really like this black matted… might have to pick up a matte top coat.

    • Pretty sure you said the same thing about glitter. Now look at you:) Matte is your friend!

      • I never said I didn’t like glitter. I said I didn’t think it was professional for the office, but I am growing. I might pick up the hard candy matte top coat at walmart.

      • “I know that Jess and Sandy LOOOOOOOOVE them some glitter, but I generally find it to be annoying and, most of the time, fairly tacky looking.” -Mel

        You said it multiple times on the blog when we started, then we corrupted you 🙂

      • Mmm hmm.:) lol It’s ok Mel, I know you just want to deny that deep, dark part of your non-glittered past.

  2. I think this looks really great, Sandy. I love the black matte.

  3. Yaaayyy matte! I need to get my Hard Candy review up. Mayhaps this weekend… haha

    • Do it! You’ve had that top coat foreverrr! Also, you know how you said matte shows all strokes? Well you can put another matte coat over it (again) and it smooths it out if it looks messy:) I got so excited halfway through matting that I rushed some of the nails but was able to fix it w/ another coat of Matte About You.

    • Yeah. Because Im thinking about getting it. I’m going shopping Tuesday. I’ll need a review by then 🙂

  1. Pingback: Wet n Wild – On the Prowl (2011 Halloween Limited Edition) Collection swatches « The Varnish Clique

Leave a Reply

