The Maryland Pride Manicure (Go Terps!!)

I absolutely love Maryland’s new Under Armour uniforms.  I knew I had to go to the home opener against Miami so I could see them for myself.   I also decided I wanted to tailor my nails to what the new uniforms were like… so I thought I had it all figured out.  That is until Sunday when I heard under the grapevine that they were coming out with a super secret never before seen Maryland flag helmet.  I knew I had to make some changes to my mani for this occasion, and it ended up being the perfect change 🙂

I present the Maryland Pride flag manicure:

1 coat Seche Rebuild (base coat)
On alternating fingers:
/ black and yellow
3 coats Sinful Colors – Pull Over (yellow base color)
to make the checkers: LA Colors Art Deco nail art pen in black
/ red and white
2 coats China Glaze – White on White (white base color)
Sinful Colors Nail Art – Bad Chick (white)
Sinful Colors Nail Art – Pretty Cool (red)
1 coat Seche Vite (top coat)

More info under the cut!

the polishes used

I loved the result!  I got tons of compliments from strangers and friends at the game who all loved the look and thought I had gotten it done professionally. Child please, I don’t know of any salon that would do this for me. I live in Virginia 🙂  It was also really easy.  I’ll admit it took some trial and error but when I finally got it, I got it.

Half the battle was working with that LA Colors Art Deco black nail art pen which I used only because I couldn’t find my Sinful Colors one.  The LA Colors one got really thick really easily and I had a hard time making the checkers neat.. so they aren’t neat at all but it worked out ok.  Props to Sinful Colors, they make a goood nail art pen.  The SC red and white nail art pens worked great.  It took a steady hand for all of it, but I managed.

most beautiful flag ever/ my inspiration

Little did I know, super secret Maryland flag helmet also meant super secret Maryland flag jerseys.  For those not in the know, the state of Maryland’s official flag is the best flag EVER and translating the design into a sexy Maryland uniform was the ultimate form of sickness.

(Not my picture)

Click here for a detailed look of the uniforms.  You had to have been there, but the moment the players ran out on the field in these uniforms, the place was electric.  We were all blown away and everyone went nuts.  I love that Under Armour did this for us!!

It was truly one of the best games I’d ever attended in my life.  There’s new energy in this football program and I am totally loving the buzz that is generating around Maryland football.  The place was rocking, uniforms were rocking, it was raining the entire game so everyone was soaked (this added to the experience) and we beat Miami 32-24.  I’ll admit, I credit a tiny part of the win to the nails. lol

Excuse the crappy cell phone pic, I FORGOT my camera! Oh well, it was raining like crazy anyway:

My nails at the end of the game

Needless to say, this mani was PERFECT for the occasion as it matched the uniforms and screamed MARYLAND. I can’t wait to do this again in a much neater fashion for future games.

Oh and props to Jess for her late night nail art support. I couldn’t have done this without her:)

LET’S GOOOOOOO MARYLAND!!!!

Posted on September 6, 2011, in China Glaze, Manicures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Amazing!!!!!! So proud you stuck it out haha. It matches the jerseys so well!!!! 😀

  2. I’m totally doing this for the maryland-towsen game saturday!!! (:

  3. i just found this through pinterest and it is amazing! i’ve been thinking about attempting md flag nails and i think this is the push i need. thanks for combining two of my favorite things, the terps and nail polish!

  1. Pingback: Maryland football matte black helmets manicure (feat. Wet n Wild – Ink Well) « The Varnish Clique

Leave a Reply

