100th Post!!!! Butter London- Dolly Bird

A few weeks ago, I posted a review of Mariner, a Butter London polish I got a couple of years ago during a Haute Look blowout sale. All the polishes were $5 and I recently discovered that one of my favorite WAGs, Abbey Clancy, was a fan of them. All I needed to know, really. This is one of the other two polishes I got during the sale. The third is in a dumpster somewhere in MoCo because it. was. turrabil. I mentioned in Mariner that I wasn’t a fan of BL polishes in the past because I thought their formulas were sort of crappy for the $14 price tag it boasts. Apparently all I needed were some nail painting skills and to acquire some patience!

I Used:
1 coat Orly Nail Defense
3 coats Dolly Bird
2 coats Seche Vite Fast Dry Top Coat (1 before clean up, 1 after to seal)

This isn’t the world’s best picture, but it’s the only one that accurately shows the true color. AND the slight blurriness is due to cropping the picture, not my photo skills. Anyway, this is one of my favorite neon pinks, and boy is it neon! I can’t look directly at my hands, I’d go blind. As a neon, it definitely needs 3 coats. The formula on neons doesn’t dry quickly and I feel it’s more likely to streak, shows bald spots, etc. But with 3 coats, this polish is perfectly opaque and is just thin enough to even out on its own to look smooth. I rarely wear this on my tips, due to the brightness, but it’s probably on my toes more than any other color I own, no matter the season.

I’m sort of kicking myself for not ordering 2 bottles of this polish. The colors that are sold on Haute Look are discontinued, clear-out colors, and therefore are really hard to find after the fact. I took a quick look on the interwebs and had no luck. You MAY find it on eBay, or some random beauty website. So good luck.

Random Note: Butter London will be on sale, BUY ONE GET ONE FREE at ULTA on 9/20 as part of their Ulta 21 Days of Beauty promotion. I will definitely be heading to the store (or waking up at midnight and placing my order on-line) as there are several colors I want to add to my collection.

 

About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on September 1, 2011, in Butter London, Manicures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

