MOB WEEK: Mattese Elite- Capo

First of all, we just want to express our supreme gratitude to Ricky’s NYC for sending us the new Cosa Nostra line to review. As a new blog, we appreciate the opportunity!! To show this, we are dedicating the blog this week to Mattese Elite. From today through Saturday, there will be one post a day, reviewing a polish from the Cosa Nostra line. Normal blogging activity will resume on Sunday ūüôā

Please disregard the dark marks along the edges of my nail, I was having some lighting issues.

Now, for a quick History/Mob/Language lesson:¬†A¬†caporegime¬†or¬†capodecina, usually shortened to just a¬†capo, is a term used in the¬†Mafia¬†for a high ranking¬†made member¬†of a crime family who¬†heads a¬†“crew” of¬†soldiers¬†and has major social status and influence in the organization. Caporegime is an Italian word, which is used to signify the head of a family in¬†Sicily, but has now come to mean a ranking member, similar to¬†captain¬†or¬†sergeant. In general, the term indicates the head of a branch of an¬†organized crime syndicate¬†who commands a crew of soldiers and reports directly to a¬†boss¬†or an¬†underboss. (Thanks Wiki!!)

This is the perfect name for this shade. This shade makes a statement, is solid, and yet, is still not the most powerful, or flashy shade of the collection. It’s a great late summer/early fall color.

I Used:
1 coat Orly Nail Defense Base
3 coats Capo
1 coat Confetti Tazmanian Devil on accent finger (I’m sorry!! I’m currently obsessed!)

I LOVE this color. I didn’t want to take it off after having it on 3 days, and I’m usually itching to change my mani after 24 hours. Capo is a gray cream with slight silver undertones. It’s so subtle, I don’t feel as though I have a disco ball on my hand, but it adds just enough shimmer that this gray isn’t flat and boring. As a perpetually pale person, even I think this color looks pretty good with my skin tone. ¬†If you are super careful and put the right amount of polish on your brush, you can get away with two coats. But I like having three. It calms me. The formula is as magical as something can be without having come from Hogwarts and there weren’t any streaks or bald spots. This is one of the two colors I’m reviewing for Mob Week. Unfortunately, it will be a bit before I can wear this color again. I’m passing the bottle off to my friend G who has been lusting after Capo since the line was announced a few weeks ago. But that’s okay. Sandy and I are taking a day trip up to NYC in October and we’ve got several Ricky’s locations on our “sightseeing” list! But knowing me, I’ll probably order this before then anyway ūüôā See below for a little Tazmanian Devil glitter action! Again, this glitter isn’t meant to be on a gray, it’s meant to be on a bright, rich color. But I’m¬†obsessed¬†with it at the moment, so it’s going on pretty much everything!


About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Group Topic, Manicures, Mattese Elite, Mob Week and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

