Essie- Carry On

As you may have read on our Twitta, I am up having girls weekend with my Mom at their lake residence. Because I’m on vacation, I brought a bunch of the nail polishes I’ve bought recently to swatch. I work in downtown DC and am pretty much out of the house from 6am to 6:30pm Monday-Friday. So I wanted a nice pool of swatches to draw from so I can blog more regularly during the week. One of the colors I brought was from Essie’s Fall 2011 line, Carry On. If ever there was a polish more perfectly named for me, I don’t know what it is. When I travel, and it doesn’t matter if it’s an overnight trip to NYC or 2 weeks in Europe,  if it won’t fit in my Kelty backpack, it doesn’t go with me. I HATE checking luggage, and I hate carrying luggage, especially when I am going to be on the move. So if I can’t walk onto the airplane with it, I don’t need or want it. So when I saw that Essie had a polish named after my travel style, I pretty much knew I had to have it.

I Used:
1 coat Orly Nail Defense
2 coats Essie Carry On
1 coat Seche Vite

I didn’t intentionally set out to end day 2 of my swatchathon with this color. But the color I swatched previously left my fingernails stained green. So I needed a color to cover it up. Luckily, I’d been dying to try out this polish since it arrived on my door step from Ricky’s NYC a couple of weeks ago. I figured this would be a good time to see how really dark colors look with my skin tone with fall coming. I never liked using them before since imperfections are very obvious with dark colors. But now that I know how to clean them up neatly, I’ll be using dark colors more often. I totally ruined my first run at this manicure which I used three coats on. When I re-did it, I used slightly thicker coats, and only needed two. As I’ve said before, I find Essie formulas to be hit or miss, and this one is definitely a HIT! It goes on smooth, and is solid enough that if you were in a major hurry, you could slap on one really thick coat and be on your way. None of my other Essies are that fantastical. So far I’ve been really impressed with the Fall 2011 line. I’ve already reviewed Power Clutch and I recently ordered Glamour Purse and Lady Like from the Discount Beauty Center and it will arrive any day now. I hope they can live up to the standard that Power Clutch and Carry On have set already.

About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on August 21, 2011, in Essie, Manicures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

