Glitter Gradient Mani

My favorite way to use glitter is definitely the glitter gradient.  There’s something about it that makes me feel like I had my nails done at a salon because it looks awesome but it’s sooo easy.

1 coat Poshe antimicrobial (base)
2 coats China Glaze – Cowardly Lyin’
3 gradient coats OPI – Glow Up Already!
1 coat Poshe topcoat

I recently acquired China Glaze’s Wizard of Ooh Aahs Collection and Cowardly Lyin’ was one of them.  I love it, I’ve decided that gold works really well on me in general.  The application was very typical China Glaze awesomeness. It’s not my favorite gold (I think I like OPI – Glitzerland the best) but it’s still nice and I have to keep it because it completes my Wizard of Ooh Aahs collection.

The glitter gradient couldn’t be easier.  I know some people sponge on their glitter for a glitter gradient but that’s really not necessary.  OPI’s Glow Up Already! is not a sparse glitter, so I did 3 SUPER THIN coats of it:

1st coat was started 3/4 of the way up the nail
2nd coat started halfway up the first coat
3rd coat started halfway up the 2nd coat

This created a lovely gradient effect. I emphasize that they need to be super thin, especially that first coat, because that’s really the heart of the gradient.  Plus, thin coats dry faster and work better.

Also important to note, Glow Up Already! does not glow in the dark 😦 I checked.

Macro shot:

Posted on August 16, 2011, in China Glaze, Manicures, OPI and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

