Jackson Pollock, Number 1, 1950 (Lavender Mist)

“When I am in my painting, I’m not aware of what I’m doing. It is only after a sort of ‘get acquainted’ period that I see what I have been about. I have no fear of making changes, destroying the image, etc., because the painting has a life of its own. I try to let it come through.”

After reading that, attempting a recreation sounded like an experience worth trying. Especially since if I “destroyed” my nails by accident, it was just part of the Pollock experience! haha.

It’s hard to write a “step by step” because it was kind of trial and error with each nail. I went for colors that were adaptations of the painting of his I chose and then used a straw and a nail art brush to get the designs where I wanted. I ended up really loving this mani. There was one nail that kind of didn’t fall in line and look like the others, but that just kinda went with the concept too. There is a lot more color variation than I could get a good picture of, and the shimmers and tones really caught the light well.

Click below the jump for a close up of a nail, my polish list, and an image of my inspiration!!

<3JessFrom this painting, I went with an old Naliene color for the base (sorry, it’s ancient and I don’t know the exact color! I believe it was part of a french mani set though…) From there it was a mash up of drips, dots, splatters and streaks of Sally Hansen’s Celeb City (silver), Sinful Colors’ Let Me Go (a very unique color. I need to do a post on it soon! but it added in the touch of purple) and Stripe Rite nail art color in Black.

Suggestions on who to recreate next? Leave them in the comments!

<3Jess

Posted on August 6, 2011, in Manicures, Sally Hansen, Sinful Colors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

