Mattese Elite Crackalacquer- Blue

As I mentioned in my other post, I won a Mattese Elite Crackalacquer nail polish from Ricky’s last week. I’ve been intrigued by crackle polishes, but not enough to risk my hard earned $6-8 on a trend. Not when I could add a 48383rd pink to my collection! But I’d been considering using a blue over red and white nails for a USA mani. So when I had the chance to try one for free, which is my favorite, I jumped at the chance!

20110802-095759.jpg

I used:
1 coat Seche Vite Base Coat
2 coats China Glaze White on White (definitely need 3 coats if a more permanent manicure, I just did a test mani, then removed)
1 coat Mattese Elite Crackalacquer- Blue
1 coat Seche Vite Fast Dry Top Coat

I love the result!! So much so I didn’t go through the trouble of watermarking the picture because I wanted to post it IMMEDIATELY! (SO DON’T STEAL IT!!) It doesn’t look good over the red, so I scrapped the USA idea, but I thought it looked great over the white! This was my first application with a crackle of any type, so I think I was a bit heavy handed as I applied it. But that’s something that will be fixed with practice. The formula is excellent, and goes on oh so smooth. I really like the look too. I may even venture into work with this manicure. I know Jess will be so proud. I’m known for keeping the manicures pretty sedate around here. And I can’t wait to try other colors, especially a black. I think that WILL look great over red, for a DC United manicure!

About Melissa

I am awesomesauce. Just ask anyone who's met me.

Posted on August 3, 2011, in Manicures, Mattese Elite and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. LOVE IT! Awwww our little Mel is getting sucked into the crazy/fun side 😛

  1. Pingback: (I’m a) Silvivor- Wet N Wild « The Varnish Clique

Leave a Reply

