NYC birthday weekend nails: Essie – Capri


1 coat Seche Rebuild (base)
2 coats Essie – Capri
2 coats OPI – Crown Me Already! (accent nail glitter)
1 coat Icing – Let’s Tango (sheer, frosty orange for accent nail)
1 coat Seche Vite (topcoat)

For my birthday weekend, boyfriend and I went to NYC to go to my fave top chef contestant Angelo’s restaurant Social Eatz, to catch a Broadway show, and to watch the Baltimore Orioles lose to the Yankees in Yankee Stadium. *sigh*

Because of my love for the Orioles, I really wanted an orange for the weekend which I waaas going to black shatter but then I felt that might be too Halloween so I went with the tried and true mani with ring finger accent nail.

I chose Essie’s Capri because it screamed ORANGE to me and I wanted an obnoxious orange to combat obnoxious Yankees fans (ha ha).  I really liked the application but the color may have been a bit tooo loud for me.  It certainly wasn’t subtle.   OPI – Crown Me Already was also very very glittery.  It practically covered the nail in silver, and I thought it looked too silver.  Good thing I had a random-ass Icing nail polish called Let’s Tango, a sheer frosty orange that gave the glitter a frosted orange tint.. perfect!

The restaurant was good, the show (Catch Me If You Can the musical) was good, the Orioles suck (but I still love them) and the mani was good.  There were some minor chips but hey, I was hanging around NYC so I wasn’t exactly gentle on my hands this weekend.  Overall, I had an amazing time.  I love everything about NYC*.

* except for the Yankees.

Posted on August 2, 2011, in Essie, Manicures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

