Love & Beauty: The Aftermatte!

Ever since Jess found a matte topcoat by Hard Candy at Wal-Mart, I’d been dying to try a matte topcoat of some kind.  I wasn’t able to find the exact matte topcoat she found so I satisfied my craving by purchasing Essie – Matte About You.  I’d read reviews online and most were satisfied with this topcoat.

It really is awesome.  I didn’t think I’d really like the matte look, and to be honest, this manicure with it is not my favorite but I see the potential!  It really tones down a loud manicure.

1 coat Seche Rebuild (basecoat)
2 coats Love & Beauty – Green
2 coats Love & Beauty – Light Green (flakies!!!)
1 coat Essie – Matte About You (topcoat)

I took a before and after:

Before Matte!

After Matte!


So I know it’s kind of hard to tell, but it’s definitely matted and looks really cool.  I had to take the picture in lower light so that you could see the matte.  Definitely can’t wait to matte everything I have now, lol.

I’m happy with the Love & Beauty nail polishes as well.  They were from Forever 21 and were $2.80 each before tax.  I had no problems with the application though I wouldn’t say it was anything special like your best China Glaze polish. Still, it was a solid purchase.  My only complaint are the names.  Green and Light Green? I have another one and it’s called Blue.  Come on F21, you can do better than that!

Also, this was my first time dealing with flakies.  As a glitter lover, I just love the edgy look of flakies and a cheap intro to them was just what I needed.  One day, I’ll pick up the famous Nfu-Oh flakies that I read so much about but I’m satisfied with this Love & Beauty one.  For now:)

Posted on July 21, 2011, in Manicures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Ive been wanting to get a matte top coat as well. I’ll be interested to see what it looks like on a solid color.

  2. Why do you hate glitter? Why do you hate LIFE? 😛

  3. i have this flakie! it was my first as well, and i haven’t used it much but it is quite pretty. i never thought of matting it. i just picked up my first matte topcoat – nyc matte me crazy, only a dollar! – and i’m currently obsessed with matte nails. especially matted glitter… gives it a whole new kind of glow! [: i just went through all of your glitter tag and wanted to leave a little something. you’re lovely!

Leave a Reply

